https://entics.episciences.org

Preface

This volume contains the *Proceedings* of the 38th International Conference of Mathematical Foundations of Programming Semantics (MFPS XXXVIII), which was held as a hybrid conference with an in-person meeting at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, a satellite event at IRIF in Paris, France, and a virtual event. The conference took place from July 11 to 13, 2022. The local organization was lead by ourselves, with a great team of local organizers including Dexter Kozen and Alexandra Silva, whom we thank for their support. Many thanks go to the MFPS Organizers (Steering Committee), in particular Michael Mislove, for the guidance and financial support.

MFPS conferences are dedicated to the areas of mathematics, logic, and computer science that are related to models of computation in general, and to semantics of programming languages in particular. This is a forum where researchers in mathematics and computer science can meet and exchange ideas.

Topics include, but are not limited to, the following: bio-computation; concurrent qualitative and quantitative distributed systems; process calculi; probabilistic systems; constructive mathematics; domain theory and categorical models; formal languages; formal methods; game semantics; lambda calculus; programming-language theory; quantum computation; security; topological models; logic; type systems; type theory.

MFPS 2022 continued the tradition of having an exciting group of invited speakers and special session organizers and speakers: We enjoyed listening to four invited talks by Barbara König (University of Duisburg—Essen), Anca Muscholl (LaBRI, Université Bordeaux), Daniela Petrisan (IRIF, Université de Paris), and Frank Pfenning (Carnegie Mellon University). In addition, MFPS had three special sessions: (1) Species of Structures in Algebra, Computation, and Logic, organized by Marcelo Fiore (University of Cambridge) and Nicola Gambino (University of Leeds); (2) Relational Verification and Formal Reasoning, organized by Marco Gaboardi (Boston University); and (3) Algebraic Effects, organized by Ningning Xie (University of Cambridge).

The conference received submissions from Canada, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Japan, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom, and United States. There were 32 submissions, of which 17 were accepted. We thank all program committee members and external reviewers for their work. We also invited submissions from the invited speakers. The accepted and invited papers are published in this volume (in alphabetical order of the names of first authors). We hope you enjoy reading the papers in this volume as much as we enjoyed listening to the talks.

Justin Hsu and Christine Tasson February 2023 ii Preface

Program Committee

Sandra Alves Achim Jung University of Porto University of Birmingham Arthur Azevedo de Amorim Delia Kesner Université Paris-Diderot Boston University Lars Birkedal Isabella Mastroeni Aarhus University University Università di Verona Steve Brookes Michael Mislove Carnegie Mellon Tulane University Jacques Carette Renato Neves McMaster University Minho University Pierre Clairambault Max New CNRS and Aix-Marseille Université University of Michigan Jérémy Dubut Krishna S AIST, Tokyo IIT Bombay Favonia Taro Sekivama University of Minnesota National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo Daniel Gratzer Alexandra Silva Aarhus University Cornell University Amar Hadzihasanovic Sam Staton Tallinn University of Technology University of Oxford Masahito Hasaegawa Christine Tasson (co-chair) Kyoto University Sorbonne Université Maaike Zwart Justin Hsu (co-chair) Cornell University IT University of Copenhagen

Organizers (Steering Committee)

Andrej Bauer, University of Ljubljana Michael Mislove, Tulane University

Lars Birkedal, Aarhus University

Steve Brookes, Carnegie Mellon University

Achim Jung, University of Birmingham

Alexandra Silva, Cornell University

Catherine Meadows, Naval Research Laboratory

Michael Mislove, Tulane University

Joël Ouaknine, MPI for Software Systems

Prakash Panangaden, McGill University

Alexandra Silva, Cornell University

Sam Staton, University of Oxford

External Reviewers

Pablo Barenbaum; Evan Cavallo; Mário Florido; Charles Grellois; Marie Kerjean; Rasmus Ejlers Møgelberg; Dylan McDermott; Federico Olimpieri; Dominic Orchard; Lionel Parreaux; Luc Pellissier; Miguel Ramos; Philip Saville; Jesse Sigal; Léo Stefanesco; Jean-Baptiste Tristan; Gabriele Vanoni; Masaki Waga; Fabio Zanasi